The Marion Fellowship for the Visual and Performing Arts

College of Visual and Performing Arts
807 Maytum Hall
State University of New York at Fredonia
Fredonia, NY 14063
Ph: (716) 673-3174

Ralph Blasting, Ph.D.
807 Maytum Hall

Julie Sticek
808 Maytum Hall

National Advisory Board:
Jennifer Cody  
Ted DeDee
Allan Dennis  
Kent Knappenberger  
Jon Lehrer
Mary McDonnell
Rocco Piscatello  
John Poppo  
Brian Usifer  
Leah Yerpe

The Marion International Fellowship for the Visual and Performing Arts fund is established by Cathy and Jesse Marion of Houston, Texas, in the Fredonia College Foundation. 

Philanthropist Cathy Marion is a freelance writer who has published a wide range of articles on business, health, crime, design, lifestyle and women's issues. She serves on the Fredonia Foundation Board at the State University of New York at Fredonia. She is an officer on the Board of Citizens of Animal Protection and is on the Advisory Board of the Chautauqua Regional Youth Ballet.

Oilman Jesse Marion, whose career in the geophysical industry spans over thirty years, is the founder of Millennium Seismic Ltd. and Marion Investments. He is a trustee of the Society of Exploration Geophysicists Foundation and serves on the Houston Community College Engineering Advisory Council. He is President of the Board of Directors of Houston’s Alley Theatre and has joined the Board of Directors of the National Council for American Theatre. He also serves as a Board member of the Memorial Hermann Foundation, Memorial Hermann Children’s Hospital and Ucross Foundation. 

Through the Marion Foundation, the couple supports many worthy organizations in the U.S. and Canada. In 2011 they dedicated the Marion Art Gallery in the Rockefeller Arts Center on the SUNY Fredonia campus. In 2013 they launched the Marion Fellowship for the Visual and Performing Arts. On their 25th wedding anniversary that autumn they were inducted into the inaugural SUNY Chancellor’s Society in Manhattan.

Cathy & Jesse Marion

The Marion's

The Office of the Dean, College of Visual and Performing Arts, is pleased to announce the third annual competition for this unique opportunity.   The Marion Fellow will design a project inspired by one of the theme weeks of the Chautauqua Institution in Chautauqua, New York.  The project will include a path of travel which includes the Chautauqua Institution, the Ucross Foundation of Wyoming, and at least one other of the Circle Member locations below.  The Marion Fellow will make a final presentation on the campus of the State University of New York at Fredonia. 


Applicants must be current or former affiliates of one or more of the Marion Circle member organizations, in roles such as artistic or professional staff, faculty, fellows, artists-in-residence, or matriculating graduate students.  Please check with Ralph Blasting if you have questions about eligibility requirements:blasting@fredonia.edu716-673-3174.

Award    $18,000

Process and Deadline

The application consists of the Project Description, Cover Sheet and Resume.  The project description should be not more than three pages, single spaced (approximately 1500 words), and should include:

  • Identification of Chautauqua Institution theme week to which the project is connected
  • Description and purpose of proposed activity
  • Outline of creative journey path, including proposed timetable
  • Description of how the activity addresses the goals of the Fellowship
  • Project budget including stipend, to a maximum total of $18,000

Proposals may be submitted on line by completing five easy steps and uploading your project description, cover sheet and resume at Fredonia Interview Exchange   Materials may also be submitted via email as .pdf documents to Ralph Blasting, Dean of the College of Visual and Performing Arts at Fredonia,  Hard copy applications may be addressed to the Marion Fellowship Committee, College of Visual and Performing Arts, 807 Maytum Hall, State University of New York at Fredonia, Fredonia, NY 14063. 

All materials are due by March 15th, 2015.  The awardee will be notified in April.

Detailed information about the application process and offerings from the circle member locations may be found the Request for Proposal and 2015 Circle member resources


 Circle Member Locations

Alberta College of Art and Design, Calgary, Canada

Alley Theatre, Houston, TX

Chautauqua Institution, Chautauqua, NY

Springboard Schools, Abu Sir, Giza, Egypt

State University of New York, Fredonia, NY

Ucross Foundation, Clearmont, WY



Page modified 3/23/15