CIS Faculty & Staff

The Computer and Information Science department's faculty is diverse and has expertise in various areas. These professors are committed to excellence in teaching and care for each individual student. In addition, they are active in research, having published several books, contributed to renowned journals, and presented at national and international conferences. They have also received many on- and off-campus honors and awards.

Current Faculty and Staff

Dr. Ziya Arnavut   

Ziya Arnavut, Ph. D.

Professor & Department Chair

Research Interests: Data Compression, Multimedia Communications, Image Processing, Combinatorial Algorithms.
Office: Fenton 2148
Phone: 716 673-3864
E-mail: Ziya.Arnavut@fredonia.edu
Home page: www.cs.fredonia.edu/arnavut

   
Stephanie Teachman   

Stephanie Teachman

Secretary I

Office: Fenton 2147
Phone: 716 673-4820
Fax: 716 673-4821
E-mail: Stephanie.Teachman@fredonia.edu

 

   
  Dr. Gentian Buzi

Gentian Buzi, Ph.D. 

Assistant Professor

Research Interests: Machine Learning, Control Theory, Bioinformatics and Systems Biology. 
Office: 2153 Fenton Hall
Phone: 716 673-4961
E-mail: Gentian.Buzi@fredonia.edu

   
Greg Cole

Gregory Cole, M.S.

Instructor

Office: Fenton 2139
Phone: 716 673-3646
E-mail: Gregory.Cole@fredonia.edu
Home page: www.cs.fredonia.edu/cole
Frequently Taught Courses: CSIT 120, CSIT 251, CSIT 335.

   
   Patricia Davison

Patricia Davison, M.S. 

Instructor

Office: Fenton 2137
Phone: 716 673-3646
E-mail: Patricia.Davison@fredonia.edu
Frequently Taught Courses: CSIT 251

   
Derrick Decker

Derrik Decker, M.S. 

Instructor

Office: Fenton 109
Phone: 716 673-4757
E-mail: Derrik.Decker@fredonia.edu
Home page: www.cs.fredonia.edu/decker
Frequently Taught Courses: CSIT 104, CSIT 105, CSIT 107, CSIT 151, CSIT 203, CSIT 208. 

   
Syed Ali Haider

Syed Ali Haider Ph.D.

Assistant Professor

Research Interests: Computer Networks, Software Defined Networks and Big Data, Software Defined Storage
Office: 2150 Fenton Hall
Phone: 716 673-3573
E-mail: Haider@fredonia.edu
Home page: http://www.cs.fredonia.edu/haider/ 
Frequently Taught Courses: 

   
 

Benjamin Hartung, M.B.A

Instructor

Office: Maytum 117
Phone: 716 673-4725
E-mail: Benjamin.Hartung@fredonia.edu

   
  Dr. Gang (Gary) Hu

Gang (Gary) Hu, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor

Research Interests: Computer Vision, Pattern Recognition.
Office: 2165A Fenton Hall
Phone: 716 673-4938
E-mail: Gang.Hu@fredonia.edu
Home page: www.cs.fredonia.edu/hu
Frequently Taught Courses: CSIT 105, CSIT 455, CSIT 462.

 

   
Denise Joy

Denise Joy, M.S.

Instructor

Office: Fenton 2137
Phone: 716 673-3350
E-mail: Denise.Joy@fredonia.edu

   
Nathan Kropp

Nathan Kropp, M.S., M.A.

Instructor

Office: Fenton 171
Phone: 716 673-4811
E-mail: Nathan.Kropp@fredonia.edu

 

   
 

Mark Mackey, M.S.

Instructor

Office: McGinnies 154
Phone: 716 673-4811
E-mail: Mark.Mackey@fredonia.edu

 

   
Maloney

Daniel Maloney, M.S.

Instructor

Office: Fenton 171
Phone: 716 673-4811
E-mail: Daniel.Maloney@fredonia.edu
Home page: www.cs.fredonia.edu/maloney
Frequently Taught Courses: CSIT 241, 242

   
Mendez

Michael Mendez, M.S.

Instructor

E-mail: Michael.Mendez@fredonia.edu
Home page: www.cs.fredonia.edu/mendez
Frequently Taught Courses: CSIT 107, CSIT 207

   
Andrew Pingitore

Andrew Pingitore, M.S.

Instructor

Office: Fenton 171
Phone: 716 673-4811
E-mail: Andrew.Pingitore@fredonia.edu
Home page: www.cs.fredonia.edu/pingitor
Frequently Taught Courses: CSIT 104, CSIT 105

   
  James Pratt

James Pratt, M.S.

Instructor

Office: Fenton 171
Phone: 716-673-4811
E-mail: James.Pratt@fredonia.edu

   
Stephen Raghunath

Stephen Raghunath, M.S.

Instructor

Office: Fenton 2153
Phone: 716 673-4961
E-mail: stephen.raghunath@fredonia.edu
Frequently Taught Courses: CSIT 107

   
Michael Scialdone

Michael Scialdone, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor

Research Interests: Social Media, Human-Computer Interaction, E-Learning, and the Intellectual Development of the Information-Based Disciplines
Office: Fenton 2154
Phone: 716 673-4694
E-mail: Michael.Scialdone@fredonia.edu
Home page: www.cs.fredonia.edu/scialdone

   
  Victoria Shimanovich

Victoria Shimanovich, Ph.D.

Lecturer

Research Interests:
Office: Fenton 2138
Phone: 716 673-3638
E-mail: Victoria.Shimanovich@fredonia.edu
Home page: 

   
Gurmukh Singh

Gurmukh Singh, Ph.D.

Senior Lecturer

Research Interests: Computer Simulation, Application of Information Systems in Education
Office: Fenton 110
Phone: 716 673-4734
E-mail: Gurmukh.Singh@fredonia.edu
Home page: www.cs.fredonia.edu/singh

   
Mike Szocki

Michael Szocki, B.S.

Instructor

Office: Fenton 2140
Phone: 716 673-3193
E-mail: Michael.Szocki@fredonia.edu
Home page: www.cs.fredonia.edu/szocki

   
Dr. Junaid Zubairi

Junaid Zubairi, Ph.D. 

Professor

Research Interests: Network Traffic Engineering, VLSI Fault Analysis
Office: Fenton 2151
Phone: 716 673-3869
E-mail: Junaid.Zubairi@fredonia.edu
Home page: www.cs.fredonia.edu/zubairi

   

 

Emeriti Faculty

 

Tat-Hung Chan, Ph.D.

Associate Professor

Research Interests: Knot Theory

E-mail: Tat-Hung.Chan@fredonia.edu

 
   
 

William Leslie, M.S.

Assistant Professor

E-mail: William.Leslie@fredonia.edu

 
   
 

Thomas Taylor, M.S.

Lecturer

E-mail: Thomas.Taylor@fredonia.edu

 
   

 

Computer and Information Sciences (CIS) Office

2148 Fenton Hall
State University of New York at Fredonia
Fredonia, NY 14063
(716) 673-4820
(716) 673-4821 fax