Biology Scholarships


The Biology Department is very fortunate to have benefactors who generously sponsor scholarships for incoming and matriculated students, and fellowships for undergraduate and graduate summer research activities.  We are grateful for their continued support of our students.



The Department of Biology routinely offers scholarships to academically qualified students.  The faculty review student records and award the scholarships based upon academic merit, career aspirations and other relevant attributes of the student.  Scholarship recipients are then notified by mail during the spring and summer semesters.  The scholarships available are:

The Archer and Mabel Fox Scholarship

The Bruce and Nancy Garlapow Memorial Scholarship

The 1929 Graduates’ Bioethics Award

The Herbert Clark Mackie and Marion C. Mackie Memorial Endowment

The Alice M. Sam Biology Scholarship

The Willard F. Stanley Memorial Scholarship

The Stavrides Award for Outdoor Interests (Natural Environment)

The Adele Maytum Hunter Scholarship

The Biology Endowment Fund

The Yunghans/Mirabelli scholarship



The Department of Biology also sponsors a series of summer fellowships to support undergraduate and graduate research endeavors.  Undergraduate and graduate students develop research project proposals under the guidance of a faculty member, and submit them to a committee for fellowship consideration.  Students who are awarded fellowships perform summer research upon the mentorship of the faculty member, and develop and offer  formal presentations to the department the following fall.  The fellowships are generously endowed by:

The Holmberg Foundation Research Award

The Constantine Barker Memorial Fund

The Dr. Robert Wettingfeld Undergraduate Research Award

The Merlin Biology Fund

The Biology Endowment Fund

For additional information about these scholarships and fellowships, please contact the Chair of the Biology Department.  For information on other college scholarships, please contact the Fredonia College Foundation or the College Scholarship Committee (Office of Student Affairs).



Page modified 11/26/14