Department of
Computer and Information Sciences


Department of Computer and Information Sciences
Prof. Reneta Barneva, Chair
2148 Fenton Hall
State University of New York at Fredonia
Fredonia, NY 14063
Ph: 716-673-4750
Fax: 716-673-4821

Computer and Information Sciences Office:
716-673-4820

Department Faculty and Staff

The Computer and Information Science department's faculty is diverse and has expertise in various areas. These professors are committed to excellence in teaching and care for each individual student. In addition, they are active in research, having published several books, contributed to renowned journals, and presented at national and international conferences. They have also received many on- and off-campus honors and awards.


Dr. Ziya Arnavut

Ziya Arnavut, Ph.D., Professor

Research Interests: Data Compression, Multimedia Communications, Image Processing, Combinatorial Algorithms.
Office: Fenton 227
Phone: 716 673-3864
E-mail: Ziya.Arnavut@fredonia.edu
Home page: www.cs.fredonia.edu/arnavut


Melanie Austin

Melanie Austin, Department Secretary

Office: Fenton 2149
Phone: 716 673-4820
Fax: 716 673-4821
E-mail: Melanie.Cross@fredonia.edu


Dr. Reneta Barneva, Chair

Reneta Barneva, Ph.D., Professor; Department Chair

Research Interests: Imaging, Algorithms, Multimedia Applications, Bioinformatics.
Office: Fenton 2148
Phone: 716 673-4750
E-mail: Reneta.Barneva@fredonia.edu
Home page: www.cs.fredonia.edu/barneva


Greg Cole

Gregory Cole, M.S., Lecturer

Office: Fenton 2137
Phone: 716 673-3646
E-mail: Gregory.Cole@fredonia.edu
Home page: www.cs.fredonia.edu/cole
Frequently Taught Courses: CSIT 120


Derrik Decker

Derrik Decker, M.S., Lecturer

Office: Fenton 109
Phone: 716 673-4757
E-mail: Derrik.Decker@fredonia.edu
Home page: www.cs.fredonia.edu/decker
Frequently Taught Courses: CSIT 203, CSIT 105, CSIT 104


Dr. Hansen

John Hansen, Ph.D., Professor

Research Interests: Embedded Application Development
Office: Fenton 2151
Phone: 716 673-3869
E-mail: John.Hansen@fredonia.edu
Home page: www.cs.fredonia.edu/hansen


Maloney 

Daniel Maloney, M.S., Lecturer

Office: Fenton 2153
Phone: 716 673-4961
E-mail: Daniel.Maloney@fredonia.edu
Home page: http://www.cs.fredonia.edu/maloney
Frequently Taught Courses: CSIT 241, 242


Mendez 

Michael Mendez, M.S., Lecturer

Office: Fenton 2137
Phone: 716 673-3646
E-mail: Michael.Mendez@fredonia.edu
Home page: www.cs.fredonia.edu/mendez
Frequently Taught Courses: CSIT 107, CSIT 207


Dr. Nazarenko

Natalie Nazarenko, Ph.D., Visiting Assistant Professor

Research Interests: Information Systems
Office: Fenton 210
Phone: 716 673-3350
E-mail: Natalie.Nazarenko@fredonia.edu
Home page: www.cs.fredonia.edu/nazarenko 
Frequently Taught Courses: CSIT 251, CSIT 471, CSIT 473, CSIT 475

 

Nippard 

Paul Nippard, M.S., Lecturer

Office: Fenton 214
Phone: 716 673-4692
E-mail: Paul.Nippard@fredonia.edu
Frequently Taught Courses: CSIT 251


Robert Olson

Robert Olson, M.S., C.E.H., Full Time Visiting Instructor

Office: Fenton 2140
Phone: 716 673-3193
E-mail: Robert.Olson@fredonia.edu
Home page: www.cs.fredonia.edu/olson
Frequently Taught Courses: CSIT 461, CSIT 443, CSIT 433, CSIT 121


Pelz 

Adrienne Pelz, B.S., Instructor

Office: Fenton 214
Phone: 716 673-4692
E-mail: Adrienne.Pelz@fredonia.edu
Frequently Taught Courses: CSIT 120


 Andrew Pingitore

Andrew Pingitore, M.S., Lecturer

Office: Fenton 213
Phone: 716 673-3872
E-mail: Andrew.Pingitore@fredonia.edu
Home page: www.cs.fredonia.edu/pingitor
Frequently Taught Courses: CSIT 104, CSIT 105


Stephen Raghunath

Stephen Raghunath, M.S., Instructor

Office: Fenton 2153
Phone: 716 673-4961
E-mail: stephen.raghunath@fredonia.edu
Home page: pizza.cs.fredonia.edu/~raghunath
Frequently Taught Courses: CSIT 107


Michael Scialdone

Michael Scialdone, Ph.D., Assistant Professor

Research Interests: Social Media, Human-Computer Interaction, E-Learning, and the Intellectual Development of the Information-Based Disciplines
Office: Fenton 2154
Phone: 716 673-4694
E-mail: Michael.Scialdone@fredonia.edu
Home page: www.cs.fredonia.edu/scialdone


Gurmukh Singh

Gurmukh Singh, Ph.D., Visiting Assistant Professor

Research Interests: Computer Simulation, Application of Information Systems in Education
Office: Fenton 110
Phone: 716 673-4734
E-mail: Gurmukh.Singh@fredonia.edu
Home page: www.cs.fredonia.edu/singh


Mike Szocki

Michael Szocki, B.S., System Administrator

Office: Fenton 2158
Phone: 716 673-3670
E-mail: Michael.Szocki@fredonia.edu
Home page: www.cs.fredonia.edu/szocki


Dr. Anthony Tsetse

Anthony Tsetse, Ph.D., Assistant Professor

Research Interests: Bare Machine Computing , Cloud Computing, Network Performance Analysis and Security
Office: Fenton 2150
Phone: 716 673-3573
E-mail: Anthony.Tsetse@fredonia.edu
Home page: www.cs.fredonia.edu/tsetse


Dr. Junaid Zubairi

Junaid Zubairi, Ph.D., Professor

Research Interests: Network Traffic Engineering, VLSI Fault Analysis
Office: Fenton 2154
Phone: 716 673-4694
E-mail: Junaid.Zubairi@fredonia.edu
Home page: www.cs.fredonia.edu/zubairi
On sabbatical leave in 2014-15


Emeriti Faculty

 

Tat-Hung Chan, Ph.D., Associate Professor

Research Interests: Knot Theory

E-mail: Tat-Hung.Chan@fredonia.edu


 

William Leslie, M.S., Assistant Professor

E-mail: William.Leslie@fredonia.edu


Dr. Khalid Siddiqui

Khalid Siddiqui, Ph.D., Professor

Research Interests: Knowledge Engineering, Pattern Recognition, Image Processing
E-mail: Khalid.Siddiqui@fredonia.edu
Home page: www.cs.fredonia.edu/siddiqui


 

Thomas Taylor, M.S., Lecturer

E-mail: Thomas.Taylor@fredonia.edu


Page modified 9/29/14