Department of English
Emeriti Faculty

Emeriti Faculty, Recently Retired

 

Questions? (716) 673-3125
State University of New York at Fredonia

B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

 

Minda Rae Amiran, Professor Emeritus

The Hebrew University of Jerusalem, Ph.D.

E-mail: Amiran@fredonia.edu

Joan Burke, Professor Emeritus

University of Maryland, Ph.D.
President's Award for Excellence in Teaching, 1996

E-mail: Joan.Burke@fredonia.edu

P. Courts

Patrick L. Courts, SUNY Distinguished Teaching Professor Emeritus

Michigan State University, Ph.D.
President's Award for Excellence in Teaching, 1986

E-mail: plcourts@netsync.net
P. Deakin

Penelope Deakin, Professor Emeritus

R. Deming

Robert H. Deming, Professor Emeritus

University of Wisconsin, Ph.D.

Albert Dunn

Albert A. Dunn, Associate Professor Emeritus

Professor Albert Anthony Dunn passed away on June 22, 2007. He received his Ph.D. in 1972 from the University of Virginia, and was awarded the The SUNY Chancellor's Award for Teaching Excellence in 1980. In 2009 a Day of Poetry and Prose was held in his memory, and a scholarship and book grant in his name were established through the Fredonia College Foundation. This year the 6th annual Albert A. Dunn Day of Poetry and Prose will be held on Thursday, April 10, 2014 from 12-5 in room S204 of the Williams Center. Reading fees and donations raise funds for the Albert A. Dunn Scholarship and Book Grant(s). Listening is free. Participation forms will be available at the English Dept. office in February. The family welcomes remembrances and can be reached at leibadunn@gmail.com.

James Huffman

James Huffman, Professor Emeritus

Michigan State University, Ph. D.

E-mail: jchuffman@adelphia.net

 

David Lunde

David Lunde, Professor Emeritus

University of Iowa, M.F.A.

 

 

 Karen Mills-Courts, Professor Emeritus

University at Buffalo, Ph.D.
President's Award for Excellence in Teaching, 1993

 Terry Mosher

Terence D. Mosher, Associate Professor Emeritus

University of Michigan, Ph.D.
SUNY Chancellor's Award for Excellence in Teaching, 1983

E-mail: Terence.Mosher@fredonia.edu

Dr Mosher retired in 2012. His research focused on Thoreau and his heirs, literature of the northern forest, agrarian literature, and students as ecocritics.

 Mac Nelson

Malcolm Nelson, SUNY Distinguished Teaching Professor Emeritus

Northwestern University, Ph.D.
SUNY Chancellor's Award for Excellence in Teaching, 1975

E-mail: Malcolm.Nelson@fredonia.edu

I was born at an early age and fell in love with lyric poetry and Elizabethan drama in college. Still love 'em, still prefer teaching them to anything else.  Research interests have included Robin Hood, seventeenth century catches, canons and glees, New England gravestones and burying grounds, (and currently) American Indian literature, the American Road, wilderness, Yellowstone, and the American West.  My most recent book is 'TWENTY WEST: The Great Road Across America,'  2008."
John Ramsey

John S. Ramsey, Professor Emeritus

University of Maryland, Ph.D.

E-mail: jsramsey@adelphia.net

R. Schweik

Robert Schweik, SUNY Distinguished Teaching Professor Emeritus

University of Notre Dame, Ph.D.

 In memoriam: Professor Schweik died October 2006. Remembrances may be addressed to the chair of the department for his family. A memorial page can also be found here.

 

George Sebouhian, Professor Emeritus

Ohio State University, Ph.D.

E-mail: Sebouhia@infolink.com

 dougshepard

Doug Shepard, Professor Emeritus

University of Iowa, Ph.D.

Dr. Douglas H. Shepard retired from the English Department in 1985 and is a researcher for the Darwin R. Barker Library and Museum in Fredonia.

E-mail: wshepard@netsync.net

J. Shokoff

James Shokoff, Professor Emeritus

University of Illinois, Ph.D.

E-mail: James.Shokoff@fredonia.edu

John Stinson

John J. Stinson, Professor Emeritus

New York University, Ph.D.
Kasling Lecturer, 2000

Office: Fenton 241
Phone: 716 673-3861
E-mail: John.Stinson@fredonia.edu

 

Jacqueline Trace, Professor Emeritus

University of Massachusetts, Ph.D.

S. Warner

Stephen Warner, Professor Emeritus

Indiana University, Ph.D.

E-mail: Stephen.Warner@fredonia.edu

 

 

Go to Current Faculty >>


Page modified 8/4/14