This website works best with a current browser. Update your browser from

Sigma Iota Rho: The Honor Society for International Studies  

<< Back to Home


 world map

Welcome to the SUNY Fredonia Chapter of Sigma Iota Rho, the collegiate national honor society for International Studies



"To promote and reward scholarship and service among students and practitioners of international studies, international relations, global studies, and  to foster integrity and creative performance in the conduct of world affairs."


The FSU chapter of Sigma Iota Rho has been established in January of 2009. On September 23, the first six members were inducted during a ceremony with a presence of several International Studies students, faculty members and university administrators. The presence of Sigma Iota Rho on campus enhances the visiblity of the International Studies Program at Fredonia; students who are members are recognized for their academic excellence, their genuine interest in International Relations and are part of a network of internationalists who are involved in the Sigma Iota Rho chapters located in almost 100 universities around the country. 

Dr. Ivani Vassoler-Froelich, member of the Political Science faculty and director of International Studies, is serving as faculty adviser to the honor society.




OFFICERS 2015-2016

President: Nicole Berger

Vice-President: Zach Beaudoin

Secretary: Shannon Rochford



OFFICERS 2014-2015 

President: William Webber

Vice-Presidents: Nicole Berger and Elizabeth Domachowske

Secretary: Shannon Rochford



OFFICERS 2013-2014

President: Sylvana Dussan

Vice-President: Roslyn Grammar

Secretary: Hanna Orsino


OFFICERS 2012-2013

President: Roslyn Grammar

Vice-President: Sylvana Dussan

Secretary: Hanna Orsino


OFFICERS 2011-2012

President: Morgan Johnson

Secretary: Juliana Walker



OFFICERS 2010-2011

President: Marielle Ali

Vice President: Morgan Johnson

Secretary: Dawn-Chamane Bush

Treasurer: Juliana Walker


 OFFICERS 2009-2010          

President: Paul Beverly

Vice President: Marielle Ali 

Secretary: Margaret Lynch



Mariele Ali

Meghan Bartok

Zachary Beaudoin

Nicole Berger

Paul Beverly

Rita Cain

Dawn-Chamane Bush

Alanna Killian-Benigno

Sylvana Dussan

Elizabeth Eckert

Julia Furman

Shannon Gillen

Roslyn Grammar

Cassandra Hardick

Keriann Ketchan

Keileigh Kirpatrick

Kayla Kubera

Laura Hirst

Abigail Jacobs

Morgan Johnson

Katrina Johnston

Margaret Lynch

Kelsey O'Callaghan

Hanna Orsino

Justin Ramsey

Kelsey Rausch

Shannon Rochford

Alexander Rogers

Emily Schultz 

Jiyeon Seung

Amanda Stone

Juliana Walker

William Webber

Monika Wozniak

Zachary Zabawa





Refugee Awareness Night, in collaboration with the International Institute of Buffalo

U.S. Immigration Policies Presentation, in collaboration with El Rincon Project, Mexico

Seminar to mark the anniversary of the United Nations, in collaboration with the Fredonia International Club

El Pais y el Maiz, campus presentation on the effects of NAFTA in Mexico


Reception - WELCOME NEW MEMBERS: 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015





International Studies majors and minors (Junior level) with a GPA of 3.2 and above are eligible for membership


Page modified 12/7/15