Weekly Workshops

 Weekly Workshops

Google Apps for Success
Tuesday, January 27, 12:30 - 1:30pm
Wednesday, March 11, 12:00 - 1:00pm
Reed Library Classroom

Learn how to use Fredonia Google Apps to your advantage. We will explore ways to utilize Google Calendar and Drive to help with organizing, reducing stress, and achieving success as a student.

Library Basics
Wednesday, January 28, 12:00 - 1:00pm
Tuesday, March 10, 12:30 - 1:30pm
Reed Library Classroom

If you are new to our library or just need a refresher, this workshop will cover how to find books and articles as well as how to evaluate what you have found.

Google Sites for Web Publishing
Tuesday, February 3, 12:30 - 1:30pm
Wednesday, March 25, 12:00 - 1:00pm
Reed Library Classroom

Are you interested in creating an e-portfolio or resume? How about an easy tool for creating, managing a website? Learn how to use Google Sites, a product that is available for free as part of your Fredonia Google Apps account, to create professional looking websites or e-portfolios.

Google Scholar: Finding Pearls Of Wisdom
Wednesday, February 4, 12:00-1:00pm
Tuesday, March 31, 12:30 - 1:30pm
Reed Library Classroom

Unlock the mystery behind finding sources using Google Scholar.

Microsoft Word for Formatting Papers
Tuesday, February 10, 12:30 - 1:30pm
Wednesday, April 1, 12:00 - 1:00pm
Reed Library Classroom

Learn to use the citation management features of Microsoft Word as well as how to format your document to automatically generate a Table of Contents, Bibliography, and Footnotes or Endnotes.

Is This Plagiarism?
Wednesday, February 11, 12:00-1:00pm
Tuesday, April 7, 12:30 - 1:30pm
Reed Library Classroom

Are you confused about what is and isn't plagiarism? Do you wonder how to avoid it as a writer and researcher? This session covers mistakes that can lead to plagiarism, strategies for avoiding these mistakes, and practical techniques for using sources correctly.

Using Online Presentation Tools

Tuesday, February 17, 12:30 - 1:30pm
Wednesday, April 8, 12:00 - 1:00pm
Reed Library Classroom

Interested in creating more dynamic presentations? This session will explore a variety of tools created for building, showing, and sharing presentations. Participants will leave this session with the tools needed to create stunning presentations that are visually engaging and multidimensional.

Citing And Managing Sources Using Zotero
Wednesday, February 18, 12:00 - 1:00pm
Tuesday, April 4, 12:30 - 1:30pm
Reed Library Classroom

Learn about the citation management tool Zotero, which makes it easier than ever to collect and organize research sources and format citations in APA, MLA and Chicago style.

Using Ebooks
Tuesday, February 24, 12:30 - 1:30pm
Wednesday, April 15, 12:00 - 1:00pm
Reed Library Classroom

Learn how you can use the library's 200,000 ebooks any hour of the day. In addition to learning how to access and use ebooks, you will learn tips and tricks to have your own virtual library with you anywhere that you go. Feel free to bring along your Nook, iPad, iPhone, or Android Device to learn how to access our ebooks using an app.

Effective Presentations
Wednesday, February 25, 12:00 - 1:00pm
Tuesday, March 24, 12:30 - 1:30pm
Reed Library Classroom

Learn how to find your articles easier, pinpoint the best place to share, and gain the knowledge to find resources outside Reed Library.

Microfilm & More: Supporting Your Research
Tuesday, March 3, 12:30 - 1:30pm
Wednesday, April 22, 12:00 - 1:00pm
Reed Library Classroom

Microfilm readers, scanners, photocopiers and printers.

Citing And Managing Sources Using EndNote
Wednesday, March 4, 12:00 - 1:00pm
Tuesday, April 21, 12:30 - 1:30pm
Reed Library Classroom

Learn about the citation management tool EndNote, which makes it easier than ever to collect and organize research sources and format citations in APA, MLA and Chicago style.



Page modified 1/13/15