Student Workshops

 Weekly Student Workshops
Each Workshop Will Be Presented Twice Throughout The Semester

Google Apps for Student Success
Tech Tuesday
Select Date To Register
Tuesday, February 4, 2014, 10:00 – 11:00 am
Tuesday, March 25, 2014, 12:30 – 1:30 pm
Reed Library Classroom

Learn how to use Fredonia Google Apps to your advantage. We will explore ways to utilize Google Calendar and Drive to help with organizing, reducing stress, and achieving success as a student.

Google Sites for Web Publishing
Tech Tuesday
Select Date To Register
Tuesday, February 11, 2014, 10:00 – 11:00 am
Tuesday, April 1, 2014, 12:30 – 1:30 pm
Reed Library Classroom

Are you interested in creating an e-portfolio or resume? How about an easy tool for creating, managing a website? Learn how to use Google Sites, a product that is available for free as part of your Fredonia Google Apps account, to create professional looking websites or e-portfolios.

Microsoft Word for Formatting Papers
Tech Tuesday
Select Date To Register
Tuesday, February 18, 2014, 10:00 – 11:00 am
Thursday, April 10, 2014, 12:30 – 1:30 pm
Reed Library Classroom

Learn to use the citation management features of Microsoft Word as well as how to format your document to automatically generate a Table of Contents, Bibliography, and Footnotes or Endnotes.

Sharing Ideas Using Online Presentation Tools
Tech Tuesday
Select Date To Register
Tuesday, February 25, 2014, 10:00 – 11:00 am
Tuesday, April 15, 2014, 12:30 – 1:30 pm
Reed Library Classroom

Interested in creating more dynamic presentations? This session will explore a variety of tools created for building, showing, and sharing presentations. Participants will leave this session with the tools needed to create stunning presentations that are visually engaging and multidimensional.

The Library at Your Fingertips: Using Ebooks
Tech Tuesday
Select Date To Register
Tuesday, March 4, 2014, 10:00 – 11:00 am
Tuesday, April 22, 2014, 12:30 – 1:30 pm
Reed Library Classroom

Learn how you can use the library's 200,000 ebooks any hour of the day. In addition to learning how to access and use ebooks, you will learn tips and tricks to have your own virtual library with you anywhere that you go. Feel free to bring along your Nook, iPad, iPhone, or Android Device to learn how to access our ebooks using an app.

Unavoidable "Technology"
Tech Tuesday
Select Date To Register
Tuesday, March 11, 2014, 10:00 – 11:00 am
Tuesday, April 29, 2014, 12:30 – 1:30 pm
Reed Library Classroom

Microfilm readers, scanners, photocopiers and printers. Unlock the mysteries today.

I Just Need A Book...Getting Back To Basics
Workshop Wednesday
Select Date To Register
Wednesday, February 5, 2014, 10:00 – 11:00 am
Wednesday, March 26, 2014, 1:00 – 2:00 pm
Reed Library Classroom

If you are new to our library or just need a refresher, this workshop will cover how to find books and articles as well as how to evaluate what you have found.

I Need More...Advanced Searching
Workshop Wednesday
Select Date To Register
Wednesday, February 12, 2014, 10:00 – 11:00 am
Wednesday, April 2, 2014, 1:00 - 2:00 pm
Reed Library Classroom

Learn how to find your articles easier, pinpoint the best place to share, and gain the knowledge to find resources outside Reed Library.

I Need What?
Workshop Wednesday
Select Date To Register
Wednesday, February 19, 2014, 10:00 – 11:00 am
Wednesday, April 9, 2014, 1:00 - 2:00 pm
Reed Library Classroom

Unlock the mystery behind finding specific types of sources such as primary documents and empirical studies.

Why Can't I...Giving Credit Where Credit Is Due
Workshop Wednesday
Select Date To Register
Wednesday, February 26, 2014, 10:00 – 11:00 am
Wednesday, April 16, 2014, 1:00 - 2:00 pm
Reed Library Classroom

Are you confused about what is and isn't plagiarism? Do you wonder how to avoid it as a writer and researcher? This session covers mistakes that can lead to plagiarism, strategies for avoiding these mistakes, and practical techniques for using sources correctly.

Pulling It All Together: Citing And Managing Sources Using Zotero
Workshop Wednesday
Select Date To Register
Wednesday, March 5, 2014, 10:00 – 11:00 am
Wednesday, April 23, 2014, 1:00 - 2:00 pm
Reed Library Classroom

Learn about the citation management tool Zotero, which makes it easier than ever to collect and organize research sources and format citations in APA, MLA and Chicago style.

Pulling It All Together: Citing And Managing Sources Using EndNote
Workshop Wednesday
Select Date To Register
Wednesday, March 12, 2014, 10:00 – 11:00 am
Wednesday, April 30, 2014, 1:00 - 2:00 pm
Reed Library Classroom

Learn about the citation management tool EndNote, which makes it easier than ever to collect and organize research sources and format citations in APA, MLA and Chicago style.

Follow-Up Fridays
Come for additional help or review of the topics covered on Tech Tuesdays and Worhshops Wednesday

Friday, February 7, 2014, 12:00 – 1:00 pm

Friday, February 14, 2014, 12:00 – 1:00 pm

Friday, February 21, 2014, 12:00 – 1:00 pm

Friday, February 28, 2014, 12:00 – 1:00 pm

Friday, March 7, 2014, 12:00 – 1:00 pm

Friday, March 14, 2014, 12:00 – 1:00 pm

Friday, March 28, 2014, 12:00 - 1:00 pm

Friday, April 4, 2014, 12:00 - 1:00 pm

Friday, April 11, 2014, 12:00 - 1:00 pm

Friday, April 18, 2014, 12:00 - 1:00 pm

Friday, April 25, 2014, 12:00 - 1:00 pm

Friday, May 2, 2014, 12:00 - 1:00 pm


Page modified 4/1/14