School of Music
Paul Coleman

School of Music
Mason Hall
The State University of New York at Fredonia
Fredonia, NY 14063
Ph: (716) 673-3151
Paul Coleman

Paul Coleman
Music Theory & Composition

Mason Hall 3165
716-673-4850 phone
716-673-3154 fax


Paul Coleman (b. 1974) is an active composer, teacher, and engineer residing in western New York.  His music has been performed in the United States, Belgium, the Netherlands, Canada, and Brazil, and ranges from solo works with computer-generated sounds to works for large orchestra.  In 2008, Paul was commissioned by the Eastman School of Music's Musica Nova ensemble for a new work for Grammy-nominated soprano Tony Arnold.  The premiere of the work, Into Winters' Grey, was on February 18, 2009 at the Eastman School of Music.

Paul is currently on faculty at Fredonia State University, where he teaches composition, theory, and computer music.  In addition to these teaching responsibilities, Paul is the Sound Director and Engineer for the new music ensemble, Signal, where he works closely alongside conductor Brad Lubman with composers such as Steve Reich, Helmut Lachenmann, Philip Glass, and Michael Gordon.  Paul has received critical acclaim for his work as a sound designer and engineer, most recently by the New York Times for a Signal performance of Steve Reich's Pulitzer-Prize winning composition, Double Sextet, at New York City's (le) poisson rouge.

During the summer of 2009, Paul was on faculty at the internationally-recognized Bang on a Can Summer Festival, serving as Head Sound Engineer, where he also taught composers electronic and computer music techniques.

Paul is completing a Ph.D. in Composition at the Eastman School of Music, where he has received a Ralph Jackno scholarship and two Belle Gitelman awards in composition.  He has served as Acting Administrative Director of the Eastman Computer Music Center and was on the board of directors of the Ossia New Music Ensemble.  During the spring of 2010, Paul will again serve on faculty at Eastman as Acting Director of the Eastman Computer Music Center.

Page modified 11/26/14