SUNY Fredonia News and Campus Report"

Current Articles | Categories | Search | Syndication

National honor society installed for top freshmen
Monday, October 30, 2006

2006 Officers of Alpha Lambda Delta are, from left to right, Jason Mellen, vice president; Alan Keegan, secretary; Kaitlyn Russo, president; and Justine Januszkiewicz and Patricia Mirando, social chairs

This fall, the national Alpha Lambda Delta honor society added SUNY Fredonia to its list of more than 250 chapters throughout the U.S., which support students who excel in their first year of college.

ALD Officer Dr. Herman Hill of Ohio University welcomed 91 new members into Alpha Lambda Delta, all SUNY Fredonia sophomores, during the September induction and installation ceremony held in University Commons.

Membership in Alpha Lambda Delta was opened to all full-time students at Fredonia who, as freshmen in either 2004 or 2005, had earned a scholastic average of 3.5 or better. Nearly 300 students qualified and 91 were inducted.

Honorary membership was given to President Dennis Hefner, Vice President for Student Affairs David Herman, and Vice President for Academic Affairs Virginia Horvath. More than 130 family members and friends of the inductees, along with campus Raymond Rushboldt (political science) and Erin Mroczka (Campus Life), attended the ceremony.

Campus ALD officers are Kaitlyn Russo, president, and Jason Mellen, vice president; Jennifer Mosher, treasurer; Alan Keegan, secretary; Rebecca Pesce, editor/public relations chair; Justine Januszkiewicz and Patricia Mirando, social chairs.

Ms. Russo and Mr. Mellen represented Fredonia at the annual Alpha Lambda Delta conference in Boston, MA recently.

Share on Facebook

Previous Page | Next Page

State University of New York at Fredonia