SUNY Fredonia News and Campus Report"

Current Articles | Categories | Search | Syndication

SUNY Fredonia employees receive Custodial Safety Incentive Awards
Sunday, January 12, 2014

SUNY Fredonia employees receive Custodial Safety Incentive Awards

Recipients of 2013 Custodial Safety Incentive Awards, and award presenters, include: (front row): Juliana Krauter, Cathy Walters, Rosemary McCune, Mary Ann Wykstra; (back row) Mark Delcamp, Lori Martin, Sarah Laurie, Susan Freitas and Anne Podolak.

Eight SUNY Fredonia employees were formally recognized as recipients of Custodial Safety Incentive Awards at the 13th annual Custodial Services Awards Recognition luncheon held on Thursday, Jan. 9, at the Williams Center Horizon Room.

“This is a chance to celebrate all of you and the work you do for this campus. You do a great job and an important job,” said Vice President for Finance and Administration Stephen Schillo.

More than 70 employees, including vice presidents and deans across all disciplines, attended the event.

Anne Podolak, director of Environmental Health and Safety, echoed Schillo’s praise of the custodial staff that’s responsible for making the Fredonia campus among the most attractive in the SUNY system. “You do an excellent job. We often have a lot of people here on campus for training, and they often comment how nice the campus looks,” Podolak said. Buildings are clean, safe and well-maintained as a result of employee dedication.

Recipients of individual Safety Incentive Awards, based on building inspections conducted during the fall semester, included: Julia Baughman, Rose McCune and Aida Hernandez, all of Kasling Hall, for Proper Chemical Labeling; Kathy Walters, Mary Ann Wykstra, Juliana Krauter and Lori Martin, of the Williams Center, for Proper Lamp Storage; and Susan Lucas, of the Campus and Community Childcare Center, for No Chocked Doors.

Each award winner received a Safety Award certificate and $25 gift certificate from Mark Delcamp, assistant director of Custodial Services; Sarah Laurie, environmental safety and sustainability specialist; Susan Freitas, head janitor; and Podolak.

Past recipients of Custodial Service Awards, established in 2003, were also recognized at the luncheon. They included: David Renckens (2003), Mary Abers (2004), Vince Chillemi (2005), Dan Pleszewski (2006), Mary Leckliter (2007), Darlene Miller (2008), Lee Szalkowski, (2009), Randy Goodemote (2010), Sue Smith (2011), Gladys Lockett (2012) and Jorge Rosa (2013).

Share on Facebook

Previous Page | Next Page

State University of New York at Fredonia