SUNY Fredonia News and Campus Report"

Current Articles | Categories | Search | Syndication

Fredonia alumni and faculty shine at Artie Awards
Thursday, June 05, 2014

It was a great night for Fredonia Department of Theatre and Dance alumni and faculty at the 24th Annual Artie Awards held on June 2 at the Town Ballroom in Buffalo.

The Arties is Buffalo’s annual celebration of its theatre season, a time to acknowledge the contributions of actors, designers and theatre companies in the city, and also a fundraising event for the Erie County Medical Center Immunodeficiency Services.

Department of Theatre and Dance alumni and faculty award winners and other participants in the festivities include:

• Tom Dudzick - Lifetime Achievement Award. Also one of the evening’s presenters.

• Josie DiVincenzo - Outstanding Actress in a Play (“Dai”)

• Steve Copps - Outstanding Actor in a Musical (“Bloody Bloody Andrew Jackson”). Steve took the opportunity to announce that he and his wife Kelly are expecting their first child!

• Department of Theatre and Dance Chair Tom Loughlin - Outstanding Supporting Actor in a Play (“Hamlet”)

• Matt LaChuisa/Steve Brachman/Maura Nolan/Steve Copps - Outstanding Production of a Musical (Producer/Cast members “Bloody Bloody Andrew Jackson”)

• Tom LaChuisa - Outstanding Ensemble of a Play (Cast member “A View from the Bridge”). Nomination for Outstanding Actor in a Play (“A View from the Bridge”)

• Michele Costa - Nomination for Supporting Actress in a Musical (“Buffalo Moon”)

• Mary Ryan - Nomination for Outstanding Production of a Musical (Cast Member “Into The Woods”)

• Maura Nolan - Nomination for Outstanding Ensemble of a Play (Cast Member “Dog Sees God”)

• Charmagne (Hale) Chi - Nomination for Outstanding Actress in a Musical (“I Love You, You’re Perfect, Now Change”). Charmagne was also one of the evening’s gracious, witty and lovely hosts.

• Associate Professor Dixon Reynolds - Nomination for Outstanding Costume Design (“A Woman of No Importance”)

• Matthew LaChuisa - Nomination Emmanuel Fried Award for Outstanding New Play (“Shine”). Matt is a Fredonia graduate from the English department, and he is also the Founder and Artistic Director of the American Repertory Theatre of Western NY, which produced, “Bloody Bloody Andrew Jackson.” He has hired several Fredonia alums to work in his theatre. We welcome him as an “honorary” theatre alum!

• Sophie Howes, Raphael Santos and Eliza Vann - Blossom Cohan Debut Awards (recognizes all actors making their debut performances in Buffalo theatres)

Alumnus Michael Hake served as Musical Director for the evening and five-time winner Brian Riggs was one of the evening’s presenters. In attendance in addition to the winners and nominees were Tina Rausa, Chris Scherr, Marisa Caruso and Sean Marciniak.

Share on Facebook

Previous Page | Next Page

State University of New York at Fredonia