SUNY Fredonia News and Campus Report"

Current Articles | Categories | Search | Syndication

President Horvath to continue on AASCU Board of Directors in 2016
Monday, November 02, 2015

President Horvath to continue on AASCU Board of Directors in 2016

President Virginia Horvath

President Virginia Horvath will continue her term as a member of the American Association of State Colleges and Universities’ (AASCU) Board of Directors in 2016.

Stephen M. Jordan, president, Metropolitan State University of Denver, assumed the chair of the AASCU Board of Directors during the association’s Annual Meeting on Tuesday, Oct. 27.

Jordan has been president of Metropolitan State University of Denver since July 2005. Under his leadership, MSU Denver has achieved university status, improved access to higher education for undocumented students through its leadership in passing the ASSET bill, launched its first master’s degree programs, and seen undergraduate enrollment skyrocket. In addition, the university has been recognized locally and nationally for the value of its degrees as evidenced by the return on investment its graduates attain.

In addition to serving on the AASCU Board of Directors, Jordan served on AASCU’s Council of State Representatives, on the Committee on the Undergraduate Experience, on AASCU’s Task Force on College Readiness, the Committee on Economic and Workforce Development, and the Committee on Policies and Purposes. He also served as chair of the Voluntary System of Accountability Oversight Board, an AASCU program.

The following other presidents and chancellors will serve on the AASCU Board of Directors in 2016:

Deborah F. Stanley, president, State University of New York College at Oswego, was elected chair-elect of the board; she will serve as chair in 2017. Stanley completed a three-year term as secretary-treasurer.

At Oswego, Stanley has established the Oswego Guarantee, an unprecedented merit scholarship program, and a capital improvement plan encompassing $800 million in completed and planned campus renewal projects. She has launched new programs in engineering, the SUNY Oswego Metro Center in downtown Syracuse, and the college's School of Communication, Media and the Arts. Stanley has served on AASCU’s Millennium Leadership Initiative (MLI) Steering Committee and as a MLI Mentor. She also has served on AASCU’s Financial Review Task Force, the investment committee, the Council of State Representatives, the Committee on International Education, the nominating committee, and policies and purposes.

Other officers include Past Chair: J. Keith Motley, chancellor, University of Massachusetts Boston; and Secretary-Treasurer: George E. Ross, president, Central Michigan University.

Newly elected directors include:

Joseph Bertolino, president, Lyndon State College (Vt.)

Rita Cheng, president, Northern Arizona University

Emile (Mel) Netzhammer III, chancellor, Washington State University Vancouver

Scott Robert Olson, president, Winona State University (Minn.)

Nasser H. Paydar, chancellor, Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis

Those also continuing their terms as members of AASCU’s board include:

Linda M. Bleicken, president, Armstrong State University (Ga.)

Philip L. Dubois, chancellor, University of North Carolina at Charlotte

Mildred García, president, California State University, Fullerton

Sue Henderson, president, New Jersey City University

Dana G. Hoyt, president, Sam Houston State University (Texas)

Troy D. Paino, president, Truman State University (Mo.)

Dennis J. Shields, chancellor, University of Wisconsin-Platteville

David L. Soltz, president, Bloomsburg University of Pennsylvania

William Ruud, president, University of Northern Iowa

AASCU is a Washington, D.C.-based higher education association of more than 400 public colleges, universities, and systems whose members share a learning-and teaching-centered culture, a historic commitment to underserved student populations, and a dedication to research and creativity that advances their regions’ economic progress and cultural development.

Share on Facebook

Previous Page | Next Page

State University of New York at Fredonia