SUNY Fredonia News and Campus Report"

Current Articles | Categories | Search | Syndication

Custodial Safety Incentive Awards presented to employees
Friday, January 22, 2016

Custodial Safety Incentive Awards presented to employees

Recipients of 2015 Custodial Services Awards, with award presenters, include (from left): Mark Delcamp, assistant director of Custodial Services; award recipients Bryan Miller, Ken Szymczak, Susan Smith and Lee Szalkowski, and Sarah Laurie, director of Environmental Health, Safety and Sustainability.

Members of the Custodial Services department were honored and individual awards presented at the 15th Custodial Services Awards Recognition Luncheon held on Jan. 14 at the Horizon Room in the Williams Center.

Before the start of each semester, the university recognizes individual winners of 2015 Custodial Safety Incentive Awards as well as their colleagues for their hard work and dedication. More than 60 people attended this year’s event that included a buffet prepared by the Faculty Student Association.

“You are an invaluable part of this campus and an important part of keeping students and employees not only comfortable, but safe. You are the daily eyes and ears in each of our buildings, and I cannot express to you how essential that is,” said Sarah Laurie, director of Environmental Health, Safety and Sustainability, told the group.

Individual awards, recipients and their building locations included:

  • Proper Chemical Labeling – Lee Szalkowski, Susan Smith, Ken Szymczak, Rafael (Bobby) Santiago, Nick Polvino, Carmen Vazquez-Ruiz and Bryan Miller – athletics complex.
  • Proper Fluorescent Lamp Storage – Sal Lorenzo – Campus and Community Children’s Center.
  • No Propped/Chocked Doors – Randy Goodemote and Andrew Cross – McEwen Hall.

Award recipients are selected based on results of semi-annual building inspections conducted by Mark Delcamp, assistant director of Custodial Services; Ms. Laurie; Kevin Cloos, director of Facilities Services; and Kathy Forster, director of Residence Life; along with residence directors or building safety coordinators and janitors and their supervisors. Award certificates and $25 gift certificates were presented to all recipients.

Karen Porpiglia, associate vice president for Finance and Administration, noted the luncheon enables the university to identify Custodial Safety Incentive Award recipients and to also say thank you to all Custodial Services employees for their efforts that insure the attractiveness, cleanliness and safety of the campus.

Porpiglia also read the names of past recipients of the Outstanding Administrative Services Award for Custodial Service, beginning with the program’s inception in 2003. These included: David Renckens, Mary Abers, Vince Chillemi, Dan Pleszewski, Mary Leckliter, Darlene Miller, Mr. Szalkowski, Mr. Goodemote, Ms. Smith, Gladys Locket, Jorge Rosa, Susan Valentine and Iris Rosa.

Share on Facebook

Previous Page | Next Page

State University of New York at Fredonia