**Office of the President** 



March 21, 2013

Tobacco-Free Campus Taskforce To: Deborah Dibble, Chair Monica White, Co-chair Matthew Abrams Gary Bice Michael Daley Megan Dash Derrik Decker Mark Delcamp Arthur Franklin Sarah Laurie Susan Murphy Bridget Russell Darin Schulz Melissa Sidor Marissa White

From: Virginia Schaefer Horvath, President Wahwatt

Re: Tobacco-Free Campus

Thank you for agreeing to serve on the SUNY Fredonia Tobacco-Free Campus Taskforce.

Following a recommendation by Chancellor Nancy Zimpher and supported by a resolution passed by the SUNY Board of Trustees on June 12, 2012, SUNY Fredonia is planning for a "Tobacco-Free Campus" initiative on January 1, 2014.

The Taskforce is charged with recommending the best means to define local policy and communication about what we mean by a "tobacco-free campus." The Taskforce should also offer suggestions for tobacco cessation programs and other education, wellness, and support initiatives available for students, faculty and staff. In order to meet the charge, the Taskforce should

- Review (and possibly adapt) policies from other campuses
- Define the limitations on tobacco use on campus
- Suggest ways to encourage/enforce compliance
- Engage students, faculty, and staff in exploring this issue



138 Fenton Hall • Fredonia, NY 14063 • T: (716) 673-3456 • F: (716) 673-3446 • www.fredonia.edu

Ms. Deborah Dibble has agreed to chair this Taskforce. The first meeting will be held on **Wednesday, April 10th at 11:00 a.m., in the 6th floor Maytum Hall Conference Room.** I've asked the chair to provide a progress report by June, with the expectation that the work will continue in Fall 2013.

Thank you for agreeing to serve on this important committee.