Stefan Zweig forum

Graduate Scholarships & Awards




Eligibility guidelines for each award are specified below. Students meeting eligibility criteria may self-nominate for both awards and grants.  Submissions should be made electronically as Google documents (see below for specifics).
DEADLINE: April 13, 2018


1. Award for Excellence in Writing and Research (first place: $200; second place: $150)

—An award given for outstanding achievement in scholarly research and excellent writing skills.

—Criteria include: a thesis chapter or substantial research essay that demonstrates innovative engagement with relevant secondary critical material and strong, fluid prose.

—Submissions should include the following: a research paper (minimum of 12 pages) noting the semester and course during which the work was done, and a cover letter from the student detailing the relevance of the project to his or her broader research interests (including whether the submission was given as a paper at a professional conference, is part of a thesis, etc.). No supporting faculty letter required.


2. Professional Development Grants (two equal prizes of $100 each)

–Grant given to support graduate students’ overall professional development.

–Criteria include: completion of 6 graduate credit hours by end of Spring 2018; good academic standing

–Submissions should address and provide evidence to support at least one of the following:

  • Acceptance of a proposal to present research in progress at a professional conference before December 2018 (include proposal and proof of acceptance; note support from other sources)

  • Description of research in progress requiring travel to library/archive, attending a conference, or other research expenses

  • Financial hardship in purchasing course or other research materials (include permission to access student’s FAFSA form)


Student submission guidelines: please create a Google folder that includes the award category(/ies)/name and evidence noted to support the submission. Please share the folder with Dr. Saundra Liggins ( and Dr. Jeanette McVicker (, co-chairs of the Curriculum/Graduate Committee.


All submissions should be received electronically by Friday, 13 April 2018, by 5 pm.  Submissions will be reviewed by faculty comprising the Curriculum/Graduate committee. Winners will be announced no later than 18 April. All awards will be presented at the English Department awards ceremony on Friday, 11 May 2018; winners should make every effort to be present.


Further information:

Scholarship Opportunities

Take the next step