Barry Kilpatrick presented 'Heart of Fredonia' award

Tuesday March 19, 2019Avril King
Barry Kilpatrick and President Horvath
Barry Kilpatrick is presented the "Heart of Fredonia" award by President Virgina Horvath (photo courtesy Fredonia School of Music Facebook page).

Since its inception in 2013, the "Heart of Fredonia" award has been presented by President Horvath to one faculty or staff member at the State University of New York at Fredonia each semester. The recipient must have demonstrated the embodiment of Fredonia ideals and commitment to the success of the campus community. 

This semester, the “Heart of Fredonia” has been awarded to Barry Kilpatrick, professor of trombone and euphonium and assistant director of the School of Music.  

“I've been teaching at Fredonia for 40 years, and I still feel lucky to be here,” Mr. Kilpatrick said. “I have what seems like a dream job, working with music students one-on-one and in classes, heading the School of Music's admissions efforts, and working very closely with our international music students.”   

Due to his love of Fredonia, his commitment to excellence and his work with international music students, President Horvath thought that he was an excellent candidate for the award. 

“With sincere thanks and appreciation for all you have done to reach out to international students, to recruit talented musicians and to welcome and support them when they arrive — and through their commencements — you are truly the heart of Fredonia,” President Horvath wrote in a note that was presented to Kilpatrick with the award. 

The Heart of Fredonia award is typically given out at the general campus meeting each semester, but Kilpatrick was not present on that date. Instead, he, along with several School of Music faculty members, had recently come back from Asia where they had been meeting with prospective students. 

Instead, President Horvath presented Kilpatrick with the award during a faculty meeting in Mason Hall. Since his colleagues were in attendance at the meeting, Kilpatrick found the distinction to be especially significant. 

“It's all very rewarding, so this award – given by President Horvath with my wonderful music faculty colleagues present – is very meaningful,” he said. 

Kilpatrick mentioned how his admiration of international students provided him with the inspiration to go above and beyond in his work. 

“When I met one of [the international students] on arrival from China, I realized how brave those students are, and how challenging everything must be for them,” he said. “Ever since then, I've given them a lot of my time and energy.” 

Along with a certificate of the award and a handwritten note from Horvath, recipients are also given a blue Tiffany & Co. glass heart. 

Past Recipients (courtesy of President Horvath) 

  • Karen Porpiglia (January 2013) 
  • Michael Lemieux (August 2013) 
  • Melinda Karnes (October 2013) 
  • Jack Croxton (January 2014) 
  • Holly Lawson and Markus Kessler (August 2014) 
  • Patty Feraldi (January 2015) 
  • Barbara Yochym (August 2015) 
  • Tracy Collingwood (January 2016) 
  • Liz Praetorius (posthumously) (February 2016) 
  • David Herman (June 2016) 
  • Karen West (August 2016) 
  • Ann Burns (January 2017) 
  • Nancy Boynton (August 2017) 
  • Iris Rosa (January 2018) 
  • Mark Kinney (August 2018) 
  • Barry Kilpatrick (January 2019) 

You May Also Like