History honor society inducts new members

Monday May 11, 2020Marketing and Communications staff
photo of map with glasses

The Department of History at Fredonia has welcomed 17 new members into the Xi Tau chapter of Phi Alpha Theta, a national history honor society. Prospective candidates must have completed 12 hours of History course work and have achieved a 3.1 grade point in History and an overall grade point of 3.0.

New members include Caroline Damian, Emma Falk, Anna Faulise, Haley Fetzer, Cameron Flynn, Elizabeth Giglia, Samuel Gray, Heidi Hoden, Sabrina Katus, Alex Kyler, Daniel LaGrow, Mikaela Mahaney, Catherine Oag, Ashleigh Reinhardt, Emily Roberts, Jeremy Saunders and Emma Stack.

Phi Alpha Theta is a professional society that promotes the study of History through the encouragement of research, good teaching, publication and the exchange of learning among historians in a variety of ways.

The organization upholds three ideas: the spirit of respect, which fosters a sincere regard for the rights of each individual; the belief in the community of all persons which renders abhorrent all ideas that foment national hatreds, racial and sexual discrimination or any form of injustice; and the need for historians to search for truth and to accept the responsibility for making decisions in terms of their meaning for others as well as for themselves.

You May Also Like