Fredonia inducts students in new PEK honor society chapter

Roger Coda
new members of the honor society

Fredonia’s chapter of Phi Epsilon Kappa, Theta Rho, was formed by the following (from left):  Dr. Cathy Houston-Wilson (chapter advisor of Beta Phi, SUNY Brockport), Haleigh Moreno (founding social chair and current president), Travis Briggs (founding secretary), Dr. Todd Backes (founding and current advisor of Theta Rho), Marissa Okerlund (founding president), Connor Dolce (founding vice president) and Aaron Wierbinski (founding secretary, current vice president).

History has been made at Fredonia with the founding of the Theta Rho chapter of Phi Epsilon Kappa, a national honor society for persons engaged in or pursuing careers in physical education, health, recreation, dance, human performance, exercise science, sports medicine and sports management.

The ceremony launching the new PEK chapter was held at the end of the fall semester.

PEK offers opportunities for students to become more involved in educational projects geared toward applied human physiology, volunteering within and around the community and interacting with other students in various majors and minors. In addition, PEK is an excellent resume-builder, and demonstrates to admissions councils of professional schools a well-roundedness of students who are members.

Major activities and events of the Phi Epsilon Kappa chapter include participation and volunteering in fundraising events with the Ride for Roswell relay team, informational opportunities in the Exercise Science lab and Science Night at a local elementary school. PEK is primarily involved with the Ride for Roswell For Pete’s Sake relay team. All the funds raised at campus PEK events will go to support cancer research at Roswell Park Cancer Institute in Buffalo.

Membership in the PEK chapter is open to undergraduate and graduate students who have majors or minors in Exercise Science, Physical Education, Dance, Athletic Training, Sports Management, Allied Health or a related field. Prospective inductees must have at least a sophomore standing and an overall minimum 3.0 GPA. Upon initiation, there is a one-time $35 membership fee..

An induction ceremony for family and friends will be held at the end of each fall semester.


You May Also Like

Hegna co-edits special issue of Zoological Studies journal

Marketing and Communications staff

Department of Geology and Environmental Sciences Assistant Professor Thomas Hegna organized and co-edited, with D. Christopher Rogers of the University of Kansas, a special issue of the journal Zoological Studies devoted to fossil and modern clam shrimp, a group of small, freshwater crustaceans.