Live viewing of SUNY Fredonia Commencement Saturday

Marketing and Communications staff
photo of diploma holder and mortarboard with tassel with class year

Commencement 2022 at the State University of New York at Fredonia will include ceremonies at 10 a.m. and 3 p.m. on Saturday, May 21, in the Steele Hall arena, combining undergraduate and master’s degree and Advanced Certificate graduates.

These are the first large in-person ceremonies to be held in Steele Hall since 2019, and the first with President Stephen H. Kolison Jr. at the helm. President Kolison became the 14th President of SUNY Fredonia in August 2020.

SUNY Fredonia will have live streaming video of both Commencement ceremonies. There will be a link to connect from the university’s home page online.

Complete Commencement information for students, faculty and staff, is also available online.

The keynote speaker for the morning ceremony is Fredonia alumna Trini Ross, ’88, U.S. Attorney for the Western District of New York. The keynote speaker for the afternoon ceremony is New York State Senator George M. Borrello.

Senior Class President Jenna Woods will speak at both ceremonies and the Lanford Presidential Prize from the Oscar and Esther Lanford Endowment of the Fredonia College Foundation will be awarded to Kayla R. Makosiej during the morning ceremony. College Council Chair Frank Pagano will offer greetings at both ceremonies, and Executive Vice President and Provost David Starrett will lead the ceremonies. Interim Vice President for University Advancement Betty Gossett will offer congratulations and welcome the graduates to the Fredonia Alumni Association.

Music groups performing include the Commencement Wind Ensemble, under the direction of Dr. Paula Holcomb; the Commencement Concert Band, under the direction of Raymond Stewart, and the Fredonia Chamber Choir, under the direction of Dr. Vernon Huff. Graduating seniors Avery Carlson will sing the national anthem at the morning ceremony, and Shane Keyes, at the afternoon ceremony. Opening Reflections will be read by Brandon Texido and Yuwan Viros, and Closing Reflections by Rebecca Ferer and Stephanie Pierre-Jacques.

Faculty Marshals will include SUNY Distinguished Teaching Professor Michael Jabot and SUNY Distinguished Professor Junaid Zubairi in the morning, and Professor Mary Beth Sievens and SUNY Distinguished Professor James Davis at the afternoon ceremony. Student Marshals include Alex Bogosian, Madigan A. Howard, Emily J. Jones, Joycelyn McCurdy and Nyles M. Panus during the morning ceremony. In the afternoon, marshals include Jackson DiCarlo, Erich E. Dickey, Elizabeth J. Horth, Ericka D. Johnson, Chrystiana D. Oakes, and SUNY Chancellor’s Award for Student Excellence recipient Jules K.A. Hoepting. In addition to Ms. Hoepting, also to be recognized at Commencement will be 2022 SUNY Chancellor’s Award for Student Excellence recipient Anders Lewis, and SUNY Dr. Norman McConney Jr. award recipient Aliah C. Richards.

The Mace Bearer in the morning will be SUNY Distinguished Teaching Professor Robert Rogers of the Department of Mathematical Sciences and Professor Barry Kilpatrick of the School of Music during the afternoon. They represent the most senior faculty members in years of service.

You May Also Like

Street pianos relocated to campus for the winter

Roger Coda

Staff from the School of Music and Custodial Services relocated the “Spot the Different Dot” Fredonia Street Piano to the University Commons lobby, its new winter home. Others are in Mason Hall.