Students to be recognized as Communication scholarship recipients

Roger Coda
student working on video production

The Fredonia Department of Communication will honor students as recipients of 15 department scholarship awards for the 2021-2022 academic year at its annual banquet, which will be a Zoom event, on Saturday, April 10, from 2 to 3:30 p.m.

Financial awards and certificates that reflect their talent, hard work, dedication, service and academic achievement will be received by the students who were chosen from among a record number of applicants.

Celina (Kryk) McCrae, who earned a B.A. in Communication: Media Management and Communication: Public Relations in 2019, will be the keynote speaker. Several scholarship donors, including Fredonia emeriti faculty Dan Berggren and Joe Chilberg, will also attend, as well as former department faculty members SUNY Distinguished Service Professor Ted Schwalbe, Professor Linda Brigance and Professor Chen-Lung Ringo Ma.

The scholarships were established through the Fredonia College Foundation.

The student recipients, areas of study, hometowns and their respective scholarships include:

  • Olivia Beilein-Hunt, a junior, majoring in Communication: Journalism and Communication: Public Relations, from Olcott – Ann Reynolds Carden Public Relations Star Award;
  • Hope Winter, senior, Communication: Journalism, East Aurora – Anne Bernstein Memorial Award;
  • Sara Gorton, sophomore, Communication: Video Production, Grand Island – Anthony J. Ellis Scholarship;
  • Hailey Cole, first-year, Communication: Public Relations, Geneseo – Arlie Muller Parks Scholarship (awarded fall semester) and Chilberg Applied Communication Scholarship;
  • Courtney Woodring, first-year, Communication: Media Management, Eden; Yuwan Ilano, junior, Communication: Public Relations, Rome, N.Y.; Josue Petion, junior, Communication: Video Production, Brooklyn; Leah DeGraw, senior, Communication: Public Relations, Union Springs; and Alyssa Bump, junior, majors in Communication: Journalism and Communication: Public Relations, Cuba, N.Y. – Arthur R. Maytum Scholarship;
  • Alexander Erwin, sophomore, Communication: Audio/Radio Production, East Patchogue – Dan Berggren Excellence in Audio and Radio Award;
  • Ben Anderson, junior, majors in Communication: Audio/Radio Production and Communication: Video Production, Jamestown – Edward S. Edelman Scholarship;
  • Sam Mackintosh-Smith, junior, Communication: Video Production, Fredonia – Kathleen McDonough Communication Scholarship;
  • Christopher Elkins, sophomore, Communication: Journalism, Springville – Louis C. and Dr. David S. Adler Scholarship;
  • Kaitlyn Wakelee, junior, Communication: Media Management, Cassadaga – Richard and Pamela Ryan Endowment Scholarship.

You May Also Like

Student art sales raise over $2,000 for Literacy Volunteers

Roger Coda

Sales of artwork created by Department of Visual Arts and New Media students at Fredonia have provided a hefty financial boost to Literacy Volunteers of Chautauqua County, a non-profit that provides tutoring services in reading, math, English language and other subjects.