Five alumni, three teams added to Athletics Hall of Fame

Sports Information Office
photo of five athletes and coaches

The 2020 Class of the Fredonia Athletics Hall of Fame includes (from left) Jordan Basile, Matt Borchard, Sarah Hite-Moore, Walt Hubbard and Greg Prechtl.

The 2020 Fredonia State Athletics Hall of Fame induction class, the 25th in school history, consists of five alumni and three Teams of Distinction.

Greg Prechtl ('69), the former men's basketball coach and director of athletics, will be enshrined along with one of his former players, Walt Hubbard ('93). The 1992-93 men's basketball team, which Mr. Prechtl coached and Mr. Hubbard was a part of, will also be entered as a Team of Distinction.

Jordan Basile ('09) from baseball, Matt Borchard ('06) from men's soccer, and Sarah Hite-Moore ('05) from women's track and field will also be enshrined individually. The 1981 men's cross country team, and the 1985 and 1986 men's soccer teams, will be added to the teams list.

The Hall of Fame ceremony is tentatively planned for Sat., Oct. 17, as part of Homecoming Weekend.

"It is with great excitement," Director of Athletics Jerry Fisk said, "that we announce the 2020 Fredonia State Athletics Hall of Fame Class. These individuals and teams enjoyed tremendous success during their times as Blue Devils and are now being recognized among the other greats. It was not an easy process. There are many deserving of consideration when selection time rolls around again.  

"I also want to thank those that nominated our inductees and recognize the work put in by the committee. Without these two groups we would not have this tremendous class to induct."  

Here's a brief look at the five individual inductees

Greg Prechtl had a relationship at Fredonia State athletics which spanned 54 years. He was a member of the men's basketball team, an assistant coach, later the head coach, and eventually director of athletics until his retirement in 2017. He received coaching awards for regular-season success and team sportsmanship, guided the Blue Devils to 1985 ECAC Upstate New York and the 1993 SUNYAC titles, and, as director of athletics, oversaw the construction of softball's Blue Devil Field, the Steele Hall Natatorium, both phases of University Stadium, and the Blue Devil Fitness Center. 

Jordan Basile is the all-time hit leader in Fredonia State baseball history and is in the top 10 in nine other statistical categories. The Blue Devils' lead-off hitter, he set single-season records for hits and runs and batted a conference-leading .420 during 2009, a season in which the Blue Devils won a program-record 26 games, including an appearance in the ECAC Upstate New York Tournament.

Matt Borchard authored one of the finest seasons as goalkeeper in men's soccer history when he posted 16 solo shutouts in 2005, still tied for fifth most in NCAA Division III history, during a run to the NCAA Round of 16. His 32 career shutouts is a school record and his 42 wins is tied for second-most in program history.

Sarah Hite-Moore was both an All American in her sport and in the classroom. She excelled in the high hurdles and holds team records in the 55-meter and 60-meter high hurdles and the pentathlon. She also competed in the multi-events. A Biology major, she was an Academic All-America as chosen by the United States Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association.

Walt Hubbard was a prolific scorer during his four seasons as a Blue Devil. He is currently fourth on the Fredonia State career scoring list with 1,309 points. He's also sixth in career three-pointers and is among the top 15 in four single-season lists while helping orchestrate the most successful run in men's basketball history, including a 22-9 mark his junior year.

Here's a brief look at the three Teams of Distinction:

The 1981 men's cross country team, recognized at the 2000 Hall of Fame dinner, will be officially enshrined as a Team of Distinction in 2020. Coached by Hall of Famer Dr. Everett Phillips, the 1981 team won the SUNYAC Cross Country championship, finished second at the New York State meet, and third at the NCAA meet. In addition to Dr. Phillips, Don Brenner ('82) and Bernie Prabucki ('83) are Hall of Fame enshrinees from the '81 team.

The 1985 and 1986 men's soccer teams will be recognized for the first time. Coached by Nelson Cupello, both teams advanced to the NCAA Division III semifinals and had a two-year record of 33-4-5, including a program-best 21-game unbeaten streak in 1986. The 1986 team won the SUNYAC title. Hall of Fame members from the two teams are Delille Edoizin ('86), Steve Brickler ('87) and Jeff Hammond ('87).

The 1993 men's basketball team, coached by Mr. Prechtl, posted an 18-10 record and won the SUNYAC championship by defeating host Binghamton. It also resulted in the program's only appearance in the NCAA Tournament. The SUNYAC title was a culmination of the most successful stretch in program history which saw the Blue Devils win 40 games. Ryan Smock ('93) is the team's previous Hall of Fame member.

You May Also Like

Runners honored for academics

Sports Information Office

Both Fredonia State track and field teams have been honored by the United States Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association as 2020 All-Academic Teams for the spring semester.


SUNYAC postpones fall sports, sets January 2021 for restart

Sports Information Office

In response to ongoing health and safety concerns, the members of the State University of New York Athletic Conference is suspending fall sports competition. In addition, the winter conference and non-conference schedules will be delayed until Jan. 1, 2021.