Scholarships and Awards

The Department awards scholarships to students who demonstrate academic success. Students are also nominated for the Tau chapter of Phi Alpha Theta, a national history honor society. Prospective candidates must have completed 12 hours of History course work and have achieved a 3.1 grade point in History and an overall grade point of 3.0.



2019-2020 Phi Alpha Theta Honors Members

Congratulations to the 2019-20 Award Recipients!

Outstanding History Major

Mikaela Wilson and Ben Russo

Outstanding Social Studies Major

Jacob Feltham

Outstanding History Paper

Owen Cheeseman

Carnahan Scholarship

Christopher Poper and Mitchell Schapp

MacPhee Scholarship

Ashleigh Reinhardt

Zimmer History Scholarship

Amanda McDonough

John J. and Helen B. Mancuso Scholarship

Elizabeth Giglia

Michaelal Mahaney

Al Nothem

Michaela Preston

Mikaela Wilson

Joseph T. Gallagher Scholarship

Emma Falk

William and Helen Chazanof Scholarship

Katelyn Hammett

Kenneth E. Cutler Scholarship

Olivia Michalak

Kim Korhummel Scholarship

Jeremy Saunders

The Chazanof Award recognizes student work in local history

The MacPhee and Mancuso Scholarships are given to promising History or Social Studies majors who have attained junior rank.

The Zimmer Award recognizes a promising student with career plans in law or communications.

The David Carnahan Award is awarded to a freshmen history major.

The Joseph T. Gallagher Scholarship is named in honor of the Dept. of History's first African historian who passed away suddenly in 1988.  It is given to a student from an underrepresented group pursuing an education degree.

The department also annually recognizes an Outstanding History major, an Outstanding Social Studies major, and an Outstanding History paper.

Phi Alpha Theta, the history honor society, recognizes academic excellence.

The 2017 inductees of the Phi Alpha Theta honors society

Take the next step