Stanley Museum

The Stanley Museum, which has been housed in Jewett Hall with the Department of Biology, contains many unique and irreplaceable specimens such as passenger pigeon, koala, duck billed platypus and echidna. It was named after Dr. Willard Stanley who was a much loved faculty member and the original collector of many of the specimens. Beginning in 1935, Dr. Stanley served Fredonia as Chairman of Sciences, Chairman of Biology and Professor of Biology until his retirement. Upon the completion of the Science Center and with the design of the Houghton Renovation, the Stanley Collection is slowly migrating from the museum setting in Jewett to the abundant displays in the Science Center. Eventually, the collection will be moved to the Stanley Museum Laboratory in the basement of Houghton with specimens rotating in the display spaces in the Houghton Community Science Lab and the Science Center display cases.

Science Center Displays

Take the next step