Graduate Education Literacy student, Kim Lotocki, works with children at Dunkirk School No. 3.

NYSTCE - New York State Teacher Certification Exams


Please select SUC Fredonia as your reporting school when enrolling for these exams.

All teacher candidates are required to take a series of exams as part of their requirements to become certified to teach in New York State. The NYSTCE exam series is designed to insure that certified teachers have the necessary knowledge and skills to be an effective teacher in the New York State public schools.  Teacher candidates will not become  NYS certified without a passing score on all the necessary exams.

Effective May 1, 2014 individuals seeking an Initial New York State teaching certificate must achieve qualifying scores on the following set of assessments:

Exam Requirements, Listed by Major

  • EAS- Educating All Students
  • CST - Content Specialty Test in the content area of the certification. (For example if you are seeking to be certified in English 7-12 you will take the CST for English. If you are seeking to be certified in any area of Elementary Education B-2 or 1-6, you will take the appropriate grade level Multi-Subject CST.)

You must register for the exams online at using a credit card.

Information for the Required Certification Exams

NYSTCE Safety Nets

Some New York State Teacher Certification Exams have a "safety net" in place for exam scores. Please use the following link to review current New York State Education Department information regarding passing scores. 

For more information:

Basic Certification Exam Information

Candidates applying for certification on or after May 1, 2014 or candidates who applied for certification on or before April 30, 2014 but did not meet all the requirements for an initial certification on or before April 30, 2014 will need to meet the revised New York State certification requirements.

Certification Updates

Return to the Office of Student Services

Take the next step