Stefan Zweig forum

Writing Awards

Fredonia English Department Undergraduate Writing Awards

Spring 2021

Fredonia English announces the following awards and invites submissions from eligible students.

Deadline: April 16, 2021, 4 p.m. sharp


Mary Louise White First-Year Student Writing Award (First place $250, Second place $150):

Best paper written by a first-year student in an English course at Fredonia.

Mary Louise White Upper-Level Student Writing Award (First place $350, Second place $150):

Best English paper written outside of ENGL 100 by a student beyond the first year at Fredonia.

Laura D. Foster 1929 Graduates’ Fund Award ($400):

Awarded to an English major (full-time undergraduate with at least junior standing) for the paper best displaying excellence in the study of literature. Preference will be given to papers that focus on the Romantic period (or, more generally, nineteenth-century literature).

Terry Mosher Writing the Natural World Award (First place $350, Second place $150):

Recognizes superior work focused on the natural world. Each entry must be the work of a student currently enrolled in an English or English Adolescence Education course this academic year, and must be submitted jointly by the course instructor and the student who produced the work. Its focus must be the natural world, but it can take a variety of forms, such as a piece of original nature writing in any genre, a pedagogical unit, or a community internship.

Henry F. Salerno Scholarship (Two awards, $500 each):

Awarded to a senior going on to graduate school who has done superior work. Submissions for this award include a personal statement of plans for graduate study (1-to-3 pages, double-spaced), and scholarly evidence of superior writing (a paper or equivalent). Evidence of acceptance AND enrollment to graduate school (i.e., a copy of registration, etc.) is needed to actually award the money after the student is enrolled.

ONLY ONE SUBMISSION PER AWARD IS PERMITTED; STUDENTS MAY NOT SUBMIT THE SAME ESSAY FOR MORE THAN ONE AWARD. Entries shall be turned in to the English Department secretary, Ms. Kimberly Hollman, via email at by 4 p.m. on April 16th. No late entries will be accepted. Winners, who will be selected by a group of English Department faculty members, will be notified no later than April 30th, and honored at the English Department Virtual Awards Ceremony at 5 p.m. on May 7th. All awards will be mailed directly to the winners. Please be sure to provide Ms. Hollman with your preferred mailing address if you are an award winner.

Take the next step