William T. and Charlotte N. Hagan Young Scholar/Artist Award

The Award

The annual William T. and Charlotte N. Hagan Young Scholar/Artist Award recognizes an individual who has made out- standing recent achievements in research or creativity. The award is named in honor of William T. Hagan, Ph.D., an eminent scholar specializing in the history of the American Indian. Arriving in 1965 and retiring in 1988, he served as history department chairperson and as acting vice president for Academic Affairs. He was awarded a SUNY Distinguished Professorship at State University of New York at Fredonia. Dr. Hagan is honored for his widely-recognized distinguished scholarship, and for personifying for Fredonia's faculty scholarly activity and, in his person, high professional and humane values.

He wrote, among others:

  • The Sac and Fox Indians (University of Oklahoma Press, 1958, 1980),
  • American Indians (University of Chicago Press, 1961, 1979),
  • Indian Police and Judges (Yale University Press, 1966; University of Nebraska Press, 1980),
  • The Indian in American History (American Historical Association, 1971, 1985),
  • United States-Comanche Relations (Yale University Press, 1976), and
  • The Indian Rights Association (University of Arizona Press, 1985).

The award was initiated in 1987 to recognize outstanding professional achievement by a teaching faculty member in research, scholarship, or artistic performance. Only faculty members below the rank of Full Professor are eligible to apply for the Hagan Award and may not concurrently apply for the Kasling Award. There is, however, no age limit for this award. The award is accompanied by an increase of $500 to the recipients base salary.

The recipient of the Hagan Award receives recognition at the Kasling Memorial Lecture held in the fall semester.


All nominating letters, including self-nominating letters, should include a curriculum vitae, as well as an explanation of the scholarly and/or artistic achievements of the nominee. Nominees or their nominators should submit supporting documents, which should include (internal and/or external) letters of recommendation, examples of published work, or materials detailing artistic achievements. Documentation of the quality and the impact of nominees’ research or creative activities, and the venues for such work, is extremely helpful. Letters of recommendation that describe the significance of the nominee’s professional accomplishments are also extremely helpful. These may be written by a departmental colleague or other persons in the profession familiar with the nominee’s work and its significance. (Please note: It is not required that the department chair be one of the letter writers, and no extra significance will be conferred upon letters written by chairs.)

To apply contact Dawn Eckenrode in the PDC to set up an e-dossier using Google Sites/Drive.  This allows you to link to and submit your documents electronically.  If applicable, separate recommendation letters should be sent to: the Kasling Committee, c/o Office of the Vice President for Academic Affairs.  The deadline varies, but it is usually in March/April every year.

Hagan Recipients

  • 2023 Dr. Eliran Avni, School of Music
  • 2022 Dr. Thomas Hegna, Geology and Environmental Sciences
  • 2021 Dr. Nick Weiser, School of Music/ Dr. Jill Reese, School of Music
  • 2020 Dr. Michael Dunham, Physics
  • 2019 Dr. Juan de Urda Anguita, World Languages and Cultures
  • 2018 Dr. Lei Huang, Business Administration
  • 2017 Dr. Birger Vanwesenbeeck, English
  • 2016 Dr. Natalie Gerber, English
  • 2015 Dr. Scott A. Medler, Biology
  • 2014 Dr. Christian Bernhard, Music
  • 2013 Dr. Timothy Frerichs, Visual Arts and New Media
  • 2012 Dr. David Kinkela, History
  • 2011 Dr. Kate Mahoney, Language, Learning and Leadership
  • 2010 Dr. Ingrid Johnston-Robledo, Psychology/ Dr. Natasha Farny, Music
  • 2009 Dr. Niel Feit, Philosophy
  • 2008 Dr. Jonathan Titus, Biology
  • 2007 Janet Sung, School of Music
  • 2006 Dr. William Brown, Biology
  • 2005 Kevin J. McMahon, Political Science
  • 2004 Dr. Michael Jabot, Curriculum and Instruction / Dr. Aimee Nezhukumatathil, English
  • 2003 Dr. Stephen Kershnar, Philosophy
  • 2002 Richard Marchand, Mathematical Sciences
  • 2001 Markus Vink, History
  • 2000 John Arthos, Communication
  • 1999 Nancy R.  Psychology
  • 1998 Dr. Efrain J. Ferrer, Physics/ James P. Piorkowski, Music
  • 1997 Julie L. Newell, School of Music
  • 1996 Dr. Vivian F. Incera, Physics
  • 1995 Dr. Daniel A. Jelski , Chemistry
  • 1994 Dr. Andrea Raspini, Physics/Alberto Rey, Visual Arts and New Media
  • 1993 Grant Cooper, Music/ Lawrence J. Maheady, Curriculum and Instruction
  • 1992 Dr. Michael P. Grady, Physics
  • 1991 Raymond A. Belliotti, Philosophy
  • 1990 Tamara P. Thornton, History
  • 1989 Dr. Gary G. Lash, Geosciences
  • 1988 Dr. John A. Hansen, Economics
  • 1987 Dr. Randall R. Dipert, History

Take the next step